a birthday is always a good place to start.

finished

There’s nothing more fun and creative for me than baking, and when you’re making one of your best friend’s birthday cakes, it’s even better. I have this running deal with one of my best friends; because we are the bakers in our families, we make each other a birthday cake each year (because everyone knows, you can’t make your own birthday cake). This year’s effort was taken from ‘Babycakes Covers the Classics’, with a few filling twists of my own (I can’t ever leave a recipe just be!). I took Erin’s classic German Chocolate Cake, and layered it up with organic rainbow raspberry jam (my kid’s favourite because of it is made from three colours of raspberries), coconut frosting and coconut flakes.

1layer

Admittedly, the frosting is definitely not (!) vegan, I just couldn’t grab those ingredients at that moment in time, but next time I make one I will give a vegan frosting recipe a go.

coconut

Thanks to little hands who are always eager to help. And according to my kids, licking the bowl is still the best bit.

closeup

Happy birthday P, you’re one special lady.

Leave a Reply

